Inspiration from workshop

May 25, 2013 by Sea Breeze

Yesterday I had the pleasure of taking part Minnie Tonka’s Naughty-knee slapping- workshop. We were discussing about the differences of “traditional style” burlesque and modern burlesque and practicing to express different feelings and emotions on stage, in comical way.

When you study the history of burlesque, you will find out that actually even back then they had lots of humour and comical acts in burlesque. All though there is now couple things that separate old burlesque and new burlesque: in the old times there were no male performers, music back then was what it was and now there is more variety on it (sometimes it can even be other than music… check out this “Car alarm”-act from Nasty Canasta, really clever don’t you think!) and perhaps not so much political references or even statements in old burlesque than new burlesque can have.

Minnie gave us some pointers on how to give act a comical twist. It can be very subtle or it can be more of slapstick type of comedy. In the end the performer chooses the type of comedy they want to go for.

Her workshop gave me so much new ideas and she encouraged to think outside the box (I know, I know, worn out phrase but it works). Even though I do enjoy the gracefull and bold sexiness and elaborate glamour, what I enjoy and what inspires me most is the comical side of burlesque. The surprises, slapstick, jokes, goofyness and oddities in burlesque excites me and that is the kind of performer I want to be. And I’m hoping that I can combine the best sides of glamour and comedy in my acts. And yes, I have so many ideas. At the moment I have two more solo acts under construction, which I’m hopefully able to get ready during this year.

w/ ♥   Sea Breeze

Ps. You can now also follow my Instagram

me&minnie

Me with Minnie, after her inspiring workshop

The Valentino Sisters is a burlesque duo of these lovely ladies, Miss Sea Breeze and Miss Lolita Love. These two sweethearts are the Real Thing! Teasing guaranteed!

We met Ivoncita

Upcoming Events

2018
Tampere Burlesque Experience

CHECK “CALENDAR” ON THE TOP FOR REFERENCE

Instagram

No Instagram images were found.